Interview with Jeff Diaz Fashion photographer

He has recently graduated from the Academy of art University in San Francisco, California with an Associate degree in fashion photography. He is extremely passionate in his craft and very hard-working.  He doesn’t just settle for mediocre shots he shots and shots until he has the perfect one and keeps going to make sure he has the perfect one.

I am very pleased to be interviewing Jeff and to be able to share it with all of you 🙂

 

How did you get started in photography? 

 I always took a liking to photographing random things around my house and photographs of family members growing up.

 

How old were you when you took photography seriously?

 I’d say I started taking it really seriously at age 19

When did you realize you wanted to go to college for photography? 

When the community college I attended had a bad photography program.

Was fashion photography your main focus from the start or did you fall into it? If you fell into it how?

Fashion photography was not my main focus starting out; I just liked photographing people doing really weird funny stuff. I started to get into fashion when I decided to try out photographing more than just people doing funny things. I started photographing girls I had crushes on at school, through that attraction I started to develop an eye for finding the beauty in people and photographing it.

 

Where do you get inspirations from for your shoots?

 Music, Cinema, I never hold back in my imagineering. No matter how crazy the idea is I always write it down or make a voice recording and review what crazy stuff I said a few days later to make sure the idea is solid.

 Which fashion photographers do you look up to? Why?

I look up to quite a few photographers…

1. Lachlan Bailey, this guy is my all time favorite photographer. He shoots almost all-natural light, which I respect. He has a great eye for beauty in women, he has excellent rapport with his models and it shows in his work. Lachlan has great sense of light and style; he has a simple and almost geometric theme to his work. I admire his simplistic style.

2. Guy Aroch – He has a very cinematic and voyeuristic eye to his photography. He has amazing sense of color toning in his work. I respect a photographer that has great sense of color toning because it plays a big part in setting mood for the viewer.

3. Brigitte Sire – She has a very clean and consistent look to her photographs. What I enjoy about Sire is her consistency, she has a signature tone to her work and I respect that. A photographer is great when anyone can look at their image and know “OH YEAH that’s Brigitte Sire’s work”

4. David Bellemere – what can I say, this is a photographer who knows mood and lighting like it’s no ones business. David’s work is so dreamlike it makes me cry and the dreamlike visual treatment David uses in all his work is masterful.

What has been your biggest problem while shooting? And how did you get through it?

 Not shooting enough frames with each scene. Starting out I tended to over plan each shot. From the site location, time of day, weather condition and lighting condition. I would shoot for the design I created weeks in advance and never try to modify it. I learned to shoot more frames of each scene and edit within the view-finder, I find that editing through the view finder helps reveal more from the scene to find that shot.

 What has been you biggest accomplishment to date?

 Documenting a music band for 14 weeks and one of my photographs from that project was posted on a music website. Really cool.

Do you like the way fashion photography is heading, with video coming into the scene? Why or why not?

 I love the way fashion photography is heading with video; I mean it’s a new way of communicating with the audience. Since almost every DSLR has video recording built-in anyone can put together a fashion short to communicate their message to a viewer. Motion is a big part of our mobile device driven world, everyone has a tablet or a smart phone, we live in an age where we can be in the elevator with a famous photo editor or art buyer and with enough charm an “elevator pitch” can be given and a video reel can be shown on the spot.

But yeah, video is going to be bigger than ever in the coming years. Software is becoming more powerful, so are DSLR equipment and lenses that are geared towards motion. Motion in my opinion can catch beauty more efficiently than photographs.

Do you think you will become one of the “starving artist?” Why or why not?

 I will not become a starving artist. Solution to that is thinking positively and staying on the edge in terms of technology and concepts. It’s all about that next big idea that’s so crazy people can’t help but except it, and it’s those crazy ideas that get you noticed and gets your foot in the door.

Jeff is a brilliant fashion photographer and driven artist. I have no doubt that he will become a great fashion photographer and I look forward to working with him again in the near future.  I think everyone should keep an eye out for his photographs.  If you want to check out his photographs his website is  http://diorablephoto.4ormat.com/gallery#1.  As a teaser I’ll give you a behind the scenes look from our first fashion photo shoot together called In a Lonely Place 🙂

jeff

 

Leave a Reply

